BossKey AI and Game Dev Trends

AI trends that are going to affect Game Dev

In this week Newsletter I want to share about AI and Game dev how The tech will start to reshape production of game software.

My thoughts

This week in gaming, a seismic shift seems to be changing through the industry this week as two giants, PlayStation and EA had to layoff a part of their workforce to the winds of change. I sense transformation lingers in the air, as if the very fabric of this digital universe is being rewoven before our very eyes. The end of the Covid gaming boom have faded, the era of artificial intelligence is here, leaving behind an uncertain landscape for game developers.

Game development for indie devs is now on Legendary Mode (Hard Mode), demanding a herculean effort from those who dare to venture forth. I do think something good will come out of this but not sure what. Yes, the road ahead may be arduous, fraught with countless challenges and sleepless nights. I do think Indie Game Dev might be the way to go if you are a solo developer and slowly scale up. I don’t think I will join the AAA space as its too risky now.

AI is going to reshape game development in the new decade. I am slowly starting to learn the tools for the game dev project. It might help me make things quicker as I am time strap at the moment.

AI Video / SORA

This video demo blew up and has caused uproar, fear and inspiration with the zeitgeist. I feel that AI video has leap frogged in less than 1 year from what Chat GPT Has unleashed with DALLE images and Stable Diffusion.

I do think AI video will bring more scams and deep fakes but also it can help users make marketing materials and concept videos. This is something I hope to have time to test as I make a game trailer.

The tech is here and companies will utilise this technology to make videos. In game dev we can start using this to make trailers. I am not sure if the artist protesting about this will have an effect but industry will change, and everyone will have to adapt to make content in a new way.

AI Use cases for Game Dev

One area that AI can help is generate mood boards for concepts. I am weak at my color schemes and I like that AI can come up with interesting color combinations.

I do like that I can get some rought ideas going when I am stuck.

AI ICONS in Foam Stars

For games using AI, Square-Enix Foam Stars started using AI for like 0.01% to make album covers for the game’s soundtrack covers that appear in game. Everything else was made by hands, unfortunately Square-Enix President wants the dev teams to experiment with AI.

In an interview with VGC, Kosuke Okatani, producer on Foamstars, said that the development team used AI generation tool Midjourney to create in-game art for album covers for the game’s soundtracks but explained that the majority of the game was still made by humans.

“All of the core elements in Foamstars — the core gameplay, and the things that make the game enjoyable — those are all made by hand,” Okatani told VGC. “However, we did want to experiment with AI as well.”

Preparing for an AI age

Recently in Parliament several MPs debated about AI and how to prepare citizens for the age of AI. This is already seen with SORA, Chat GPT that was released by Open AI. There is no stopping it. Industries will be change. Including Game Dev.

Tan Wu Meng and Jamus Lim touched about the AI Age in their speeches.

Singapore want to build up its AI Talent Pool, the government is already noticing the trend and wants to upskill the work force AI Skillsets.

I am not sure if there is courses to use AI for Game Dev but the trend is here to stay and not learning it might be FOMO for your career.

Talking to an AI Blast from the past MGS2

I remembered years ago playing on the PlayStation 2 Metal Gear Solid 2 Sons of Liberty where the player was talking to an AI. Even though its a fake pre program scenario. I feel the creators were on to something. AI is going to shape the next decade. Though I don’t think the impact will be like this its something I am watching closely.

Thank you for reading it this far.